20 Economic Development MCQ with answer

Presenting 20 MCQ on Economic Development. This will help you to prepare for your competitive exam as well in your NET Exam.

1. The Planning Commission was established in the year

a) 1947

b) 1948

c) 1950

d) 1965

Answer: C


2. The first plan started on

a) 1950

b) 1951

c) 1965

d) 1991

Answer: B

3. Planning Commission was scrapped on

a) 2015

b) 2014

c) 2017

d) 2012

Answer: B

4. Formation of NITI AYOG was announced in

a) 15th August 2015

b) 15th August 2015

c) 26th January 2015

d) 26th January 2014

Answer: B

5. NITI AYOG was established on

a) 15th August 2015

b) 26th January 2015

c) 2nd October 2015

d) 1st January 2015

Answer: D

6. Which of the following is not a feature of Indian planning

a) Development planning
b) Indicative planning

c) Democratic planning

d) Centralized planning

Answer: D


a) NITI Aayog

b) Planning Commission

c) National Planning Committee

d) Finance Commission

Answer: A

8. Full form of NITI Aayog is

a) National Institute for Transforming India

b) National Institution for transforming India

c) National Institute for Transmitting India

d) None of the above

Answer: B

9. Who amongst the following is the chairperson of NITI Aayog

a) The president

b) The Prime Minister

c) The Union  Minister

d) The Finance Minister

Answer: B

10. Who appoints the Vice-Chairperson of NITI Aayog

a) The Prime Minster

b) The President

c) The Chief Executive Officer

d) The Union Minister

Answer: A

11. Number of part-time members in NITI Aayog is

a) 5

b) 10

c) Not exceeding 2

d) 2

Answer: C

12. The concept of Participatory Development was introduced in

a) 1980s

b) 1970s

c) 1950s

d) the 2000s

Answer: B

13. Engagement of local people in development project refers to

a) Economic Development

b) Social Development

c) Participatory Development

d) Sustainable Development

Answer: C

14. The entire process of participatory development can be completed in

a) 4 stages

b) 5 stages

c) 2 stage

d) 3 stages

Answer: A

15. The form of Participation where the primary stakeholders participate in the discussion and analysis of pre-determined objectives is called

a) Empowerment participation

b) Participation by collaboration

c) Participation by consultation

d) Passive participation

Answer: B


16. The father of Indian planning is

a) Jawahar Lal Nehru

b) Mahatma Gandhi

c) B.R. Ambedkar

d) M. Vishveshshwariah

Answer: D


17. A rolling plan refers to a plan which

a) Does not change its target every year

b) Changes its allocation every year

c) Changes its allocation and target every year

d) Changes only its target every year

Answer: C

18. Which Constitutional amendments give recognition and protection to local Government?

(a) 64th and 65th

(b) 73rd and 74th 

(c) 69th and 70th

(d) None of the above

Answer: B

19. Panchayati Raj is a

(a) Two tier system

(b) Three tier system

(c) Four tier system

(d) None of the above

Answer: B

20. District level Panchayats are known as

(a) Panchayat Samiti

(b) Gram Panchayat

(c) Zilla Parisad

(d) None of these

Answer: C



Thank You

Contact Form